Providing Crown Green Bowls For All Ages

Who's Online

We have 8 guests and 1 member online




Welcome to Shropshire Crown Green Bowling Association's Web Site
Situation vacant. PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mrs Mo Corley   
Wednesday, 15 October 2014 09:22

Barry Jennings will be relinquishing his position as SCGBA Welfare Officer/Counter Signatory at the SCGBA AGM in February 2015.

On behalf of the Association I thank him for his sterling work and now we face the task of finding a replacement.

The SCGBA will cover the cost of the necessary courses to obtain the qualifications for this important post in return for at least a three-year commitment.

Honorarium for this post is £350.00 yearly.

Job specification available on request.

Contact: Mo Corley SCGBA Honary Secretary. Tel: 01939 235064 or email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Last Updated on Saturday, 18 October 2014 09:26
Junior Festival update. PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mo Corley   
Tuesday, 27 May 2014 10:12

Due to lack of numbers we have decided to cancel the Shropshire Crown Green Bowling Association Bowls Festival, originally to be held on Saturday 20th September 2014. The Festival would have given the chance for Shropshire Junior Selectors to assess the bowls talent available to us throughout the County, in order to build on the recent last three years success, where Shropshire have played in two finals and one semi-final, the County Association is very keen to build on this success and assess fully all bowling talent from all parts of the County, we have youngsters in abundance but don't seem to attract the numbers that many clubs and leagues seem to have. In a bid to move this forward County Junior Selector Simon Parsonage is asking all Bowling Club and League Secretaries affiliated to SCGBA can bring to the attention any up and coming talent covering all ages, abilities and potential, so we can build a vast database of talent and look at these at a proposed County Bowls Trials at the beginning of next season, where it is proposed to look at running a competition within age groups and by ability and to provide coaching. This event will be staged at the Severnside complex which will allow to use as many greens as we need to accommodate any number of youngsters.

Simon Parsonage can be contacted on

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


or on mobile 07585 772073






Last Updated on Saturday, 20 September 2014 11:20
Next meeting of the County Executive PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mrs Mo Corley   
Thursday, 21 August 2014 17:34

The next meeting of the SCGBA Executive will be held at Meole Brace commencing 19.15 on Monday 17th November 2014.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 October 2014 09:27
Change of secretary PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mrs Mo Corley   
Saturday, 08 February 2014 14:55

Please inform the County Secretary if you change your secretary.

Important admin will be sent out in the near future.


Last Updated on Thursday, 20 February 2014 09:54
SCGBA AGM 2014. PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mrs Mo Corley   
Monday, 20 January 2014 20:31

The AGM of SCGBA will take place on Monday 3rd February 2014 at Reman Services Club, Albert Road, Shrewsbury, Shropshire. Commencing at 19.30

Notices have been emailed to all clubs where possible and letters posted to remaining today.

Mo Corley

Hon Secretary.


AGM Notice PDF Print E-mail
Written by Webmaster   
Friday, 18 January 2013 14:52

I am directed to inform you of the AGM of the above association to be held at Reman Services Bowling Club, Albert Road, Shrewsbury, Shropshire, on Monday 4th February 2013 commencing at 19.30

Can you please ensure you print off the documentation which can be found at the link below

click here for documentation

Last Updated on Friday, 18 January 2013 15:18
An Ideal Christmas Present, not available in the shops! PDF Print E-mail
Written by Mrs Mo Corley   
Sunday, 29 July 2012 11:20

Long and short of it



Now only £5.00

As histories on local sporting organisations go, this is a very superior production, evidence of the time, professionalism and, not least, money that has gone into this book marking the centenary of the Shropshire Crown Green Bowling Association. The aim was to produce a quality book, and the association has certainly done that. It even has that glossy quality book smell, if you can have such a thing.

Once the decision was taken to go ahead with the project, the challenge was to raise the £7,000 or so for design and printing, Leagues and clubs affiliated to the association were asked if they could each make a contribution of at least £20.12 - a symbolically significant figure in this centenary year - and the appeal met with a generous response.

The project team comprised former Shropshire Star journalist Malcolm Fletcher, who is now secretary of the Mid Shropshire League, and past association presidents Jeff Hutchinson and Terry Sambrook.

Copies for sale are available either direct from Malcolm on 01952 771134 or Terry on 01743 358776, and will be available at all major county bowling events for the rest of the year. It would have been easy to do the book as a simple chronology, and the result would have been worthy, if rather unimaginative. Instead, the story has been told in lively fashion, picking out highlights, interesting facts, and spotlighting key personalities and events. On the persnalities front, the towering figure is that of Dick Meyrick (1915-1998), who became known as "Mister Bowls" and the book poses the question of whether he was the greatest crown green bowler ever.

Packed with both black and white and colour photos, the book will be a feast for anybody interested in Shropshire bowling, and is a fitting memento and souvenir of 100 unbroken years of the association.

Review by Toby Neal (Shropshire Star)

Last Updated on Friday, 02 August 2013 11:03
Competition Entry Payments PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 15 May 2012 16:52

In future any entries taken over the telephone must be paid for by the time that I do the draw, which is usually 2 days after the official closing date.
Failure to comply with the above will result in not been entered into the draw.
 John Coxill S.C.G.B.A. Competition Secretary.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 May 2012 22:01
Joomla Template Tutorial by JoomlaShack